Bookmail | Volume 1

new books 190116

Welcome to the first volume of bookmail! I can’t say how frequently/infrequently I’ll post these. I suppose it does depend on how many wonderful things come across my desk… Which is quite regularly, so maybe once a month is a good goal. On to the books! Oh gosh, where to begin?!

  • The Soldier’s Curse by Meg and Tom Keneally (Penguin Random House, March) :: I sat in on a meeting with Random House yesterday where they spoke to us about their Jan-June highlights, and this one piqued my attention. It’s the first in a historical crime series that Tom Keneally is writing with his eldest daughter, and the series is described as ‘fast-paced, witty, and gripping’. Keen!
  • The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney (HarperCollins, April) :: I listed this book in my highlights of 2016 post, and I’ve been obsessively stalking NetGalley for this one. When I found out that proofs were available here, I wrote a *very* lovely email to someone at Harper and I was lucky enough to get a copy. I’m going away to Brisbane later this week and I will most definitely be taking this one with me.
  • The One Who Got Away by Caroline Overington (HarperCollins, May) :: There were a few copies of this up for grabs and I couldn’t pass one up. It’s a psychological thriller that gets into the nitty-gritty of messy family dynamics, and despite being touted as another one ‘perfect for fans of Gone Girl‘, it sounds unique enough to me for it to shine on its own. Fingers crossed!
  • A Kiss From Mr Fitzgerald by Natasha Lester (Hachette, May) :: Yes, historical fiction from an Australian author, yes! ‘A small-town girl with big ambitions in 1920s New York’ is how the publisher’s website describes it, and it sounds lush and atmospheric with a strong and ambitious female lead. I think I’ll save this one for when I need an escape from the real world.
  • Girls On Fire by Robin Wasserman (Hachette, May) :: Okay, so this one has been described as ‘The Virgin Suicides meets Prep, with a dash of Heathers’, so come on, who wouldn’t be intrigued by that? With a background in YA, this is Wasserman’s first adult novel, and it sounds like it could get pretty intense, so I’m looking forward to getting caught up in this one.
  • Everyone Brave Is Forgiven by Chris Cleave (Hachette, April) :: I need to admit something. I’ve never read a Chris Cleave novel before. I think I own one or two, but I’ve never picked them up. It’s historical fiction, set around the outbreak of WWII, and I think I’ll need some tissues for this one.
  • The Life-Changing Magic Of Not Giving A F**k by Sarah Knight (Hachette, January) :: Another one mentioned in my highlights of 2016 post, I’m so thrilled to finally have a copy of this! I read an extract of this over the Christmas break and it sounds like the perfect book to help me simplify my life in 2016. I’ll report back!
  • Your Heart Is A Muscle The Size Of A Fist by Sunil Yapa (Hachette, January) :: This book has an exquisite cover. This is Yapa’s debut novel, and is set during the World Trade Organization protests. This is another one that sounds like it could get pretty intense, so I’ll save it for a day when I can handle some heavy content.
  • The Happy Life by Lola Berry (Pan Macmillan, February) :: I am beyond stoked to have received an advance copy of this last week. I finally got the chance to sit down and have a chat with the delightful Lola today, and I think this is her best book yet. It’s got her signature healthy-but-delicious recipes, coupled with some beautiful insights into how to live a happier life.

So that’s it for now! I also managed to get my hands on some older books that have been out for a while now, but I figured these were the super-exciting just released or soon to be released titles. Are there any in here that you’re interested in? Any that you’d particularly like to read a review of? Let me know in the comments!

And now, here are a couple of narcissistic shots I took after I photographed the books. You can’t put a 180 degree flip screen on my camera and not expect me to look at my face from time to time! (Especially when I am loving my makeup for the day. And my new bed linen.)

new books 190116 pic 3 new books 190116 pic 2

Share this:
  • Girls on Fire and the Life Changing Magic of.. both sound super interesting. Would definitely be interested in what you thought of them. Your make-up is totally A-game in that photo!

    • tonile.helena

      Thank you! Sometimes I turn the screen around and it’s a bit confronting, but I think it all came together nicely. The Life Changing Magic of… actually has quite large font, so it could be a good take-to-Brisbane read.

  • Bri

    You are so beautiful! I am very keen to hear more about / read Girls on Fire. The Virgin Suicides is still one my absolute favourite books.

    • tonile.helena

      I’ll have to make it a priority, I think!